Biblioplan

0926191507-02597451966973145071.jpeg

New to our homeschool this year is Biblioplan – this is an excellent resource if you are a Story of the World kind of family, but find the activity and literature guide lacking once you get beyond 5th grade.

This year, I have a kindergartner, a 4th grader, and a 9th grader, so I needed one go-to that gave me what I needed for each child. Biblioplan is basically a resource guide broken down into 4 cycles, and each cycle broken down into 32 weeks. Story of the World is one of the resources included in their list, so if you want to keep going with that for your younger kids, you can do so without any changes! Biblioplan publishes their own “companion guide” (textbook) which makes an excellent text for your highschooler, and a nice browsing option for younger kids. The website can be a little overwhelming to navigate, so I will just tell you what I purchased for my family this year –

  1. Year One Ancients Family Guide – this is the mega resource list for each week
  2. Year One Ancients Companion – this is the GORGEOUS, hardcover textbook, although I hate to use the word “textbook”, because this is so much nicer than a regular old textbook!
  3. Year One Ancients Cool History for Advanced (gr 8-12) – comprehension questions to go along with each chapter of the companion
  4. Ancients Hands On Maps for Middles (gr 2-8) – mapwork that coordinates with each week, my favorite part is that the instructions are printed right on each map, so this is a self-contained assignment!
  5. Ancients Hands On Maps for Advanced (gr 8-12) – mapwork for the older crowd, same maps as the book listed above, but with more detailed instructions/expectations

09261915147493456019694128968.jpg

0926191514b3303360802411643521.jpg

09261915157396445700643759042.jpg

So far, I am really happy with this selection of materials, although I am wishing I had purchased the Cool History comprehension questions for my 4th grader as well! I may still add that in.

Over the summer, I waded through the Family Guide, and highlighted which resources I planned to use each week. I did take some time to adjust the order of weeks to better fit our memory work schedule (Claritas), but other than that, the family guide keeps us ready to go!

You can check out Biblioplan here, and browse through all of the other interesting things they publish! I can’t wait for the “Remember the Days: Ancients” book that is coming out in the spring – it is a textbook for the younger kids, and I know mine will love it!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment