Smart but Scattered Teens

Anyone have a teen with a bedroom where the drawers are almost empty but the tops of dressers and floors are full? Or maybe a son or daughter who arrives at a sporting event with half their gear? Ever been on a road trip and have your child realize that they didn’t pack any shoes, not even on their feet? Anyone? Just me?

I am just diving into Smart but Scattered Teens after a friend recommended it. It is a program for improving executive skills.

We are still at the beginning so I can’t give a final verdict. It starts with a brief explanation of executive skills and some short evaluations for both the parent and teen to complete. That is where we are. Coming up is an assessment on parenting style for both parent and teen to fill out. Although this makes me a bit nervous, I do like how the book is going to address the parent-teen struggle that comes with attempting to improve executive skills. I may, or may not, turn into a bit of a dictator. I am looking forward to some guidance in this area.

I will post again when I complete the book but right now I am excited and encouraged.

Leave a comment