A Little Princess

One of my favorite parts of homeschooling is getting to share cherished books with my kids. Last year my daughter read one of my favorites, A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

Moving and inspiring, A Little Princess tells the story of imaginative and kind Sara, who faces hardship and cruelty with courage, poise, and perseverance. I first fell in love with this story watching a VHS cassette of the Shirley Temple movie over and over again. I can clearly remember pretending to be Sara Crewe during my playtime in my elementary years.

This book is usually an easy one to find at the library and bookstores but since it is in the public domain, it can be found online for free too. It can be read on Project Gutenberg. Several audio versions are available on LibriVox too. Our favorite one is the one read by Karen Savage.

Whether looking for a book to read during the Christmas break or planning curriculum for next year, I highly recommend A Little Princess.

Leave a comment