Carving out *my* reading time

0221201004-035800543121521281515.jpeg

Charles Dickens. My favorite author by far! He has a way of taking simple phrases or thoughts and weaving them into beautiful paragraphs that I read and re-read, just to soak in the lovely language. I have been working my way through Oliver Twist for a super long time – I am about halfway through, because I usually can only squeeze in a few pages at a time! The book is incredible, and I have been underlining and annotating as I go, with the hope that someday my kids will read it and (maybe?) appreciate my notes. I struggle to find the time to read for my own personal enjoyment – do you? I read lots of homeschool materials, and I listen to books on Audible, but I don’t often take the time to sit and enjoy a beautiful story, especially one that takes a little more concentration than your average “beach read”. This weekend, I plan to be more intentional about carving out this time for myself, and making some serious headway in Oliver Twist. I hope you find time this weekend for whatever it is that recharges you!

If you are also fan of Charles Dickens, I highly recommend the following:

Charles Dickens: A Life by Claire Tomalin – I am almost done with this fascinating biography. I have been listening to this on Audible while I clean my house!

Dickensian – A really cool BBC production that takes most of Dickens’ iconic characters and places them all together in one tv drama. I am so sad that there was only one season of this show, but it is one I will rewatch because I enjoyed it so much!

Leatherbound Collection of Four Dickens Stories – This beautiful collection includes Oliver Twist, A Christmas Carol, A Tale of Two Cities, and Great Expectations

A World Full of Dickens – This book hasn’t even been release yet, but it is on my wish list! From the publisher: Uncover the stories from one of the greatest-novelists of all time in this beautiful anthology of tales from Charles Dickens, rewritten and adapted in an accessible way for children. This book introduces children to eight of Dickens’ greatest works, accompanied by beautiful, colourful illustrations which breathes new life into these timeless classics. Includes favourites such as Oliver Twist, A Christmas Carol, David Copperfield, and Great Expectations. A timeline at the back shows when each story was written, and gives facts about Dickens’ life.

Usborne Illustrated Stories From Dickens – This is a must have for your read-aloud collection! Great illustrations, and character descriptions for each of the stories!

Leave a comment