What I Loved This Year: Learn Math Fast

 

This week I am sharing resources that I have loved using this year. Today it is the Learn Math Fast System. If you have a student struggling with math, then you probably have been looking for a math program with that magic formula. That one that is finally going to open up the world of math for your child. Well, there is no hidden magic here. What I love about the Learn Math Fast System is it clearly isolates each new concept without any extra fluff. With other math programs, sometimes it was the extra components that I liked. I liked the real-world applications or the hands-on demonstrations.  I thought that these things would help my kiddos understand math but sometimes it just got in the way. Some programs just had too much going on and my kids would get bogged down. This system is straightforward. Each lesson plainly introduces a new topic.

I will say that the first book is a bit different than the rest of the books in the system. It begins with addition. It works through memorizing addition facts and mental math. I even learned some great tricks to help with my mental math skills. I do not think it is the right introduction for a young student just beginning math. I think the Learn Math Fast websites discusses this as well. It is a nice fit for an upper elementary student, or older, to remediate or solidify their working knowledge. Book one does include some timed tests but it was easy for me to modified those for my student who gets a little anxious.

While I like the first book, it is the later books that I really love. We have worked up through the book that is Algebra I. Again, I love how clearly and concisely each topic is presented. It has even increased my understanding of a few concepts. Simple explanations, clear rules, and usable tricks. Because each topic is isolated, it is also easy to use this system as a reference for a topic that needs remediation without working the whole program. This is especially handy for my high school kiddos who are working on test prep. Forgot how to divide negative numbers? It is easy to find that lesson and be reminded.

The pacing of this program will depend on the student. Even some older students may need to complete some of the earlier books in order to fill in gaps. Placement tests and pacing instructions are available on the Learn Math Fast website. If you have an older student who needs remediation but you are nervous about starting all over…again, this program may be designed for you.

I am not completely sure we will use this program completely by itself, but, right now, I am happy with the results. I did email the company to inquire on what high school credits to award if we did only use this program. Their response was that if the entire system is completed with satisfactory scores on the final exams, then that would be credit for Algebra I, Algebra II, and geometry.

We have tried many, oh so many math programs. I have liked some but this is the first one that I can say that I love. Simple, clear, and effective! Definitely keeping this one next year!

*I am not affiliated with Learn Math Fast in any way. Just sharing a program that is working for us.

 

Leave a comment