Elementary Biology

I am not a huge fan of formal science in the elementary years, but I have a 9 year old who is constantly asking for more science work! While searching for something that she could do independently that was both low-key and worthwhile (a hard combo to find sometimes!), I found this curriculum: Elementary Biology by Real Science for Kids.

The company states that the book is for grades K-4. I find it a little too complex for my kindergartner, but on the easy side for my 4th grader. My 4th grader probably could have done well with the next level up, but I wanted this to be an easy, gentle approach to science, so for our purposes, the K-4 book is perfect.

I also purchased the downloadable notebooking pages – there are a few pages of interactive notebook type sheets for each chapter that are fun for my daughter to work on and encourage her to reinforce the topics she is reading about.

I am really happy with this addition to the science memory work that we do (through Claritas) – it feels much more rounded out, but still casual, which is right where I want science to be at this age!

You can find all of the Real Science for Kids curricula here!

Leave a comment