Pumpkin Art Activity for Older Elementary

My fifth grader still likes to create seasonal arts and crafts but I need, for her, something a little older than the crafts of her earlier years. That brings us to art. I love art! That is, I love to look at it, learn about it, and admire it, but I have no talent for creating it. I have come to accept my strengths and weaknesses. That doesn’t keep me from giving it a go.

So, this week we did a quick light and shadow pumpkin drawing using oil pastels. We grabbed one of our pumpkins and put it on the table. We opened the blinds and let the morning sunshine shine on our gourd. We spent some time talking about how the light hit the pumpkin and where the shadows were made. Then we grabbed our supplies and tried to recreate what we observed.

Even if we didn’t produce a masterpiece worthy of a museum exhibit, we added to our knowledge and can better appreciate what other artists have accomplished. We had some fun too!

So, if you too were not blessed with an artistic talent, don’t be intimidated. Pick up your pumpkin, grab some pastels, crayons, or even a pencil and draw.

If you would like a little more instruction, here is a short, simple video on light and shadow.

Leave a comment